//
you're reading...
Arts

Gallery: Some of My Favorite Classic Fine Art


"Starry Night" by Vincent Van Gogh

For me, art speaks to me in as many volumes as any book. This painting to the left by Vincent Van Gogh has defined the meaning of fine art. I can get lost in the flow of the sky, lost in the stars, play in the hills, and see myself within the town below. this painting to me is more about a feeling then a conveyance of a verbal theme.

"Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte" By Georges Seurat

To your right, you will see one of the most amazing paintings I have ever had the pleasure of seeing in person at The Art Institute of Chicago in the 1980’s by Georges Seurat. The enormity of the painting is what first caught my attention. Then, of course, the tiny points that make up the full painting come into focus the closer you get.

"El Vendador de Alcatraces" by Diego Rivera

Diego Rivera captures the beauty and personality of a local flower vendor to the left. The centering and flow of this painting meet in a symphony of perfection.

"Tree of Life" By Gustav Klimt

To the right, you see “Tree of Life” by Gustav Klimt c. 1909. This image has been reinterpreted many times throughout time. I find this painting to be one of the more interesting renditions. The flow without tangles, the multicolored patchwork, the endless spiral. I feel this painting speaks more about humanity itself then the artist’s opinion of it.

There you have it…my first gallery of my favorite art. Look soon for my next gallery installment with some of my favorite modern art pieces.

Take a look at these other great Art blogs!

Collabcubed

A Stellar Existence

~Erik Sudberg

About thetumultuoustimes

I am just a citizen of the world expressing opinions about a world that is in dire need of change.

Discussion

One thought on “Gallery: Some of My Favorite Classic Fine Art

  1. some of my favorites as well Eric!

    Posted by Stephanie Little Wolf | November 30, 2011, 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

The Tumultuous Times

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 8,729 hits
